Silverman vs. Munn Smackdown

OK, so part of the reason for doing this posting is to test  MarsEdit, a blogging app. The title sounds like a mud wrestling competition that a fair piece of geekdom might be interested in, but this is really about their respective books.

 

Sarah Silverman Book-1.jpg

 

Munn Book.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

 

Voila_Capture202.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One day I found myself looking for something to read and was hoping to find something funny. I stumbled across the Olivia Munn book and was excited to get my hands on it. Munn has geek cred and, in the limited exposure I’ve had to her, seems funny. Plus, with a title (and cover) like that, how could I help but be interested? Then, after my encounter with Ms. Munn, I found the Sarah Silverman book. Since I’ve sort of made a habit of contrasting two different products, it seemed like a worthy entry.

Here is the  expected table:

NewImage.jpg

In a rundown, Olivia’s title certainly beats out Sarah’s. It doesn’t have the soul-searing honesty of Sarah’s but it has a certain “imagery” to it that is more attention getting. The cover picture is a toss-up. Olivia is going for the cleavage angle but Sarah looks damn cute as one of the Beatles (or whatever the hell look she was going for).

Neither of these young ladies should kiss their mommas with those mouths. If you rate a book based on the number of references to penises, poop, farts, and vaginas, Sarah’s book may well be the book of the decade. If you are turned off by a constant barrage of expletives, these are not the books for you. I’ve heard that “The Hiding Place” and the Little House on the Prairie books are light on blue language but they also aren’t nearly as funny.

Both books provide an abundance of pictures. I flipped a coin and Olivia won. Without question, Olivia wins on the flip book front. Sarah can’t touch that ingenious little addition to Suck It. It’s like buying two books for the price of one.

Unfortunately for Olivia, when you actually start reading the book, Sarah wins. Hands down. Both women clearly love their families and both are comfortable with admitting their foibles. They each have a self-deprecating way about their writing that keeps things light. But…Olivia’s book reads like it was written by a high-school girl. It was an absolute chore to read through. In fact, in full disclosure, I could not finish the book (if someone can get me a signed copy, I’d be happy to give it another shot…). This is in contrast to Sarah’s book, which I completed in less than 24 hours. Although she dealt with some dark subjects (quickly), like bed-wetting and depression, they did not bog the book down. The book remained light, funny, and interesting from beginning until almost the end. There were two events in the book that were a little disgusting. The first revolves around Sarah and Louis C.K. dropping their clothing, one item at a time, into an apartment lobby from high up. They then get into the elevator, naked, and run around retrieving their clothes. I have to admit that the image is interesting, even compelling, until a naked Louis C.K. steps into the frame. At that point, my gag reflex is triggered (but I’m just not that into naked, balding, middle-aged red-headed men, YMMV). The other is a picture of a guy’s penis with a hair clip on it. In context, it’s funny but…

Perhaps it makes sense that Sarah would have a more “mature” “professional” book since she’s 10 years older and has earned her living as a writer, but I expected more from Olivia’s book. I wanted to love the Munn book. Too bad. Seriously, get me that signed copy and I will force myself to read it and revise this as appropriate…

 

 

Leave a Reply

