MacJournal 5.2 — Test

wpid-mjicon-fyctvtmbtu2u.jpg

This week, I am traveling. I have an iMac but no MacBook. Having a Dell XP laptop means that I had to use the native WordPress posting for my beer review last night. It works ok but I found myself missing the simplicity of MacJournal. Perhaps it’s the fact that I have used word processors for so long but whatever the reason, using MacJournal is a much more satisfying experience.

This morning, I decided to install MacJournal on my wife’s MBP. Further, I decided to try to get everything setup without referring to any help and without referring to my previous review. It took less than two minutes to establish the connection with WordPress and to recall how to customize the Info Bar so that I could add my tags within MacJournal. It was very simple and appeared to come off without a hitch.

So, here is the acid test. I’m going to select “Send to Blog” and we’ll see what happens. I fully expect everything to transfer just fine. If it doesn’t, I’ll post an addendum.

Ok, it went off quite well, but not 100%. As I was writing this, I was wondering how I would categorize the posting and couldn’t remember what MacJournal did. To my surprise, when I opted to send the entry to WordPress, a dialog appeared and asked me to classify the entry. It presented the categories I have used so far and allowed me to pick the one I wanted. Here is the bad news…it ignored what I selected and the category was posted as uncategorized. I checked the Mariner knowledge base but there was no entry about this issue. I’ll send a support request and add the results here.

Despite this issue, I still find MacJournal a very effective and pleasant way to maintain my blog. Also, I know that when I get home, I’ll just have to tell MacJournal to download my entries from WordPress to ensure that my copy of MacJournal fully represents what is on the site. Easy peasy…

Further addendum… when I used MacJournal to send the post update update… (great English, eh?), the category changed to match my selection. Not sure if this will be a recurring issue or not. Since it worked the second time around, I will not post a support ticket. I’ll see how the next few posts go.

Still further addendum… in subsequent posts, the issue above has not reoccured. I’m going to write it off as a user error. My opinion of MacJournal remains quite high and I certainly prefer using it to the editing feature within WordPress.

Leave a Reply

